h1

First trip to a gymnasium

March 30, 2008

Well, I got to take tumbling lessons at a gymnasium in Humbolt county today. Unfortunately, i couldn’t take a video of it, since i forgot my digital camera at home. It was bloody good fun! ^_^ Hah, that’s an understatement.

Anyway, I managed to learn, to some degree, a front flip, and a round off. I also got to try back handsprings, but didn’t graduate from doing them without help. (said help is accomplished with the use of a large semi soft object resembling a wheel of cheese with a chair shaped piece sliced out of it, and a spotter).

I would really recommend gymnastics/tumbling class’s for any fairly new tricksters, there a lot of fun, and learning from someone who actually knows what there doing, in person, is much better then watching videos on youtube. Even if you don’t want to take any class’s, if there is a gymnasium near you that you could get a membership to, do it. Crashing head first onto crash mat is significantly less painful and dangerous then doing on grass.

Edit:

The Day After

Well, I woke up this morning, and, MAN AM I SORE. one hour of doing round-offs, cartwheels, handsprings, and front flips really takes it out of you. Funny thing is, the sorest areas are my shoulders, upper back, and neck, i would have thought it would be my legs and arms, apparently not so.

Yakri~

2 comments

  1. I’ve learnt so much by going to the gym and minimised the risk of injury thanks to all that soft stuff. When I watch videos of people trying to learn flips out on the grass, I feel sorry for them not having access to a gym. Good to hear you had a good session… look forward to learning of your achievements there 🙂


  2. Re: Edit – yeah that aching sounds familiar too! Learn to love it.. and if it ever stops aching, then you know you aren’t trying hard enough 😉



Leave a Reply

